Lady at the Post Office…

lady at post office

Do you see her? Tiny little figure walking in the road? It is an old woman. She is a regular around here. She walks everywhere. She must be in her 80’s. I see her near & far. She is such an inspiration to me. She wears layers of clothes (kinda like my grandmother did). They don’t really match. She walks with a rolling walker. She just keeps on going. She must be out all day. She puts the rest of us to shame. I would do it if I was brave enough but alas, I am not.
Nor do I have the time.
One day, my husband said she had a matching outfit of pink on and make up to match (bright pink lipstick). He was happy for her because it seemed she was celebrating something special. Maybe it was her birthday?
Personally, I think she knows something the rest of us don’t.
This day in particular, I had the privilege of coming out of the post office when she was coming in. Of course I held the door…
But it was I who was blessed…
She with her snow white hair and tan leathered face smiled at me as she sincerely & sweetly proclaimed God’s blessings on me.
(my heart overfloweth..)

Then she walked away. I had to get a picture of that love.
Yes, in human form beneath all the outward appearances. That is why I took the picture. To remind me of her and that brief encounter.
Yes, it is that simple. It is IN the simple. It is in the least expected. That person, place or thing that you think doesn’t matter. To God, to all matters. He doesn’t make anything that doesn’t. From the tiniest to the largest.

I myself am having to learn this the hard way. Lord, take the blinders off us all.
xo Have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

